514th Sweeps AFRC Inspector General Awards

  • Published
  • By 1st. Lt. Emily Rautenberg
  • 514th Air Mobility Wing public affairs

The 514th Air Mobility Wing was awarded seven of the 2017 Air Force Reserve Command Inspector General Awards.

 The IG team consists of Lt. Col. Jeffrey P. Matthew, Lt. Col. Fernando E. Waldron, Maj. Gwendolyn G. Soden, Maj. Louis A. Kaltz, Senior Master Sgt. Teresa Lapcheske, Senior Master Sgt. Stephen B. Fitzgerald, Master Sgt. Vincent Rienzi, Master Sgt. Joseph E. Kelly, and Tech. Sgt. Nachole A. Carlson.

 Despite both Matthew and Waldron deploying, the group has continued their level of excellence and received two wing level awards: the Lt. Gen. John P. Flynn Award, Category II, and the Maj. Gen. Junius W. Jones Award, Category II.

 Individually, four Reserve Citizen Airmen were awarded the Lt. Gen. Howard W. Leaf Award. Lapcheske received the Category I award, Rienzi and Fitzgerald both received the Category III award, and Soden received the Category IV award.

 “The team worked so hard and brought many different strengths to the table,” said Soden, director of inspections. “Some of the big reasons we won this year are that we had the Unit Effectiveness Inspection, which was the largest in our history, the Mobility Exercise, which included thirteen wings all coming together, and we mix in many other little projects throughout the year, including sending fake emails as part of cyber awareness and security inspections.”

 “I’m really proud of everything this team does and has accomplished,” Soden said.