514th Air Mobility Wing 2023 Annual Awards Banquet

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Ruben Rios
  • 514th Air Mobility Wing
The 514th Air Mobility Wing celebrated its 2023 annual awards banquet on Feb. 3 at Tommy B’s Lounge at Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, New Jersey.

The annual event recognizes enlisted and commissioned Airmen, civilian employees, and volunteer Key Spouses for outstanding performance.

“The annual awards banquet is a moment for us to come together and celebrate the Freedom Wing’s top performers,” said Col. Christopher Holland, 514 AMW commander. “These individuals, from each level of our force, are the role models and standard bearers pushing us to grow and improve every day.”

Wing members, honorary commanders, and guests socialized while enjoying live music from a three-piece band, before enjoying dinner. During the program, Michael Malone, Director of Veterans Affairs at The Best Defense Foundation, provided keynote remarks.

Malone spoke of the importance of remembering veterans of the past and proudly compared the award nominees to them, stating how they are the next generation to continue a proud legacy.

Holland presented the annual awards to the following Airmen and civilians:

Airman of the Year, Senior Airman Gabriela B. Gutierrez, 514th Logistics Readiness Squadron
Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, Staff Sgt. William N. Bardaji Jr., 514th Maintenance Squadron
Senior NCO of the Year, Master Sgt. Christina M. Felix, 514th Security Forces Squadron
First Sergeant of the Year, Senior Master Sgt. Richard A. Hanratty, 514th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron
Company Grade Officer of the Year, Capt. Paris M. Krula, 714 AMXS
Civilian of the Year, Angela N. Christiansen, 514th Force Support Squadron
Key Spouse of the Year, Veronica Robles, 88th Aerial Port Squadron
Major General Joseph McNeil Award, Capt. Christopher L. Klingenberg, 78th Air Refueling Squadron
Ceremonial Guardsman of the Year, Master Sgt. Eric M. Schonewolf, 514 MXS
These individuals will go on to compete with other wing-level winners for the 4th Air Force First Sergeant of the Year, Twelve Outstanding Airmen of the Year, and the Reserve Officer Association Junior Officer of the Year. Upon selection at the 4th Air Force level, winners will compete for the Air Force Reserve Command awards, before ultimately being considered for the prestigious Air Force Twelve Outstanding Airmen of the Year and the Air Force First Sergeant of the Year.